Design Science Clusters of Merit

Open-ended submisison date. Submissions by invitation only. Interested groups within an institution should contact one of the TC Ediors or the Editors-in-Chief.

TC Description

The DSJ Thematic Collection (TC) on Design Science Clusters of Merit (DSCM) comprises review papers on design research, education, or practice conducted by specific research groups associated with a particular institution. The collection aims to increase awareness and broad visibility of design science work worldwide in both academic and industry settings; and to highlight synergies across diverse research efforts that converge in realizing a contribution to design science.

Papers in the collection should meet the following criteria:

  • There must be multiple authors of similar standing from the same institution rather than a single leading researcher with a support team.
  • Typically, more than one research team within a single institution will be included in the cluster review paper.
  • The content must be scientific in nature and free of commercialism and self-promotion with emphasis on design science.
  • As a review work, the paper must offer new insights on the work conducted within the particular institution.  Papers with a tutorial element are welcomed -- consistent with the general DSJ practice which encourages papers accessible to broader audience than that of specialists on a topic.

All papers will be reviewed following the standard review process in DSJ and reviewers will be alerted that the manuscript is submitted to this specific collection.

Papers for this collection will be solicited directly by the TC Guest Editors and the journal Chief Editors.  Any research group is encouraged to send an inquiry to the TC Guest Editors or the journal Chief Editors about submitting a manuscript for this collection. Such an inquiry should include summary information about the composition of the proposed cluster and the particular domain of merit that the proposed team would represent. After due consideration, the editorial team will make a decision on extending an invitation. 

This is a standing TC with no end date for submission solicitation.

TC Guest Editors (2020-23):

Amaresh Chakrabarti, Indian Institute of Science

Yongqi Lou, Tongji University

Chris McMahon, University of Bristol and TU Denmark,

Yukari Nagai, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Tahira Reid, Purdue University

Please sign in to your account

This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional and marketing efforts, and provide content from third parties. Privacy Policy.